What is Exam Pattern & Passing Score for getting PSM 1 Certification?

A Professional Scrum Master is someone who helps their project team deliver high-quality products. But in order to be a PSM, you need to have the right training and skills. For that, we recommend the Professional Scrum Master level I (PSM I), which is designed for professionals and experts in other fields like Human Resources, Operations Management, or Quality Assurance who want to learn how to be a PSM.

PSMs are responsible for managing the Scrum activities within a development project while still being responsible for their primary area of expertise. PSMs should be able to perform all the roles of a Scrum Master and have the capability to coach and train the members of their project team.

The Professional Scrum Master level PSM1 certification is designed for professionals who already practice or want to practice professional Scrum at work. 

In order for PSMs to help improve product quality, it’s important that they understand both Scrum and Agile development processes. PSM I course provides students with the background knowledge and instruction to understand and apply scrum in real-world scenarios.

PSM I is the ideal starting point for anyone looking to further their understanding of Agile and Scrum. Additionally, those who have previously taken a Scrum Master Training course can take this as a way to continue their professional development.

The PSM I certification is awarded to applicants who complete the Professional Scrum Master Level 1 training course, pass the exam given at the end of it, and pay the associated fee.

Exam pattern

In PSM accreditations, the candidates have to answer 80 MCQ questions within a duration of 60 min. The passing score is 85%.


  •     The Scrum Framework
  •     Scrum Theory and Principles
  •     Cross-functional, Self-organizing Terms
  •     Coaching and Facilitation
  •     Scrum at Large

How to prepare for a Scrum exam?

Scrum Professional is the certification for Agile Development that has become popular for many professionals. Scrum has been applied to deliver business value and achieve product success on a global scale. It also helps organizations to respond quickly to competition, customer feedback, and changes in the market.

1. Important Materials for Scrum PSM 1 Exam

The first thing to do is to make sure that you have access to the Scrum Guide and other information from the Scrum Alliance. You will find these documents in the Member’s section of scrum.org. You will also need access to simple paper and a pen to take notes as you read.

2. Learn about “The Basics” of Scrum

As you read through the Scrum Guide, the very first thing to do is to learn the difference between Product Backlog and Sprint Backlog. It’s important to spend some time learning the difference in detail.

3. Know the Scrum Roles

There are three Scrum Roles – Product Owner, Scrum Master, and the Team. While reading the Guide, it’s important to learn about the responsibilities associated with each role.

Conclusion | Exam Pattern & Passing Score for getting PSM 1 Certification

Commitment and thorough preparation is needed to achieve PSM1 certification. So, you need to prepare well. With this certification, you can give a competitive edge to others in your career.

Also, If we talk about online learning vs classroom learning, then you may come across the edge of a knife as both have a lot of benefits and similarities.  However, it all depends upon you what type of education you prefer considering your circumstances & your interest. 

FAQs | Exam Pattern & Passing Score for getting PSM 1 Certification

Q1: What is the cost of the Professional Scrum Master I (PSM I) certification?

The cost of the PSM I certification is $150.

Q2: What is the passing score for the PSM I exam?

The passing score for the PSM I exam is 85%.

Q3: What is the duration of the PSM I exam?

The duration of the PSM I exam is 60 minutes.

Q4: How many questions are there in the PSM I exam?

There are 80 questions in the PSM I exam.

Q5: What is the format of the PSM I exam?

The PSM I exam is a multiple-choice question (MCQ) exam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *